What to Look For in a Diamond

When deciding to purchase a diamond, it is important that you become informed on the 4 C’s. They are carat, clarity, color and cut. Determining which of the 4 C’s is most important to you will help in your decision on purchasing a diamond. Some individuals prefer cut and some prefer weight. At Williams & Co. Fine Jewelry, our staff will take the time to help you choose your next diamond.

Carat Grade

The biggest misconception concerning diamonds are carats. This is not the “size” of the diamond as most believe. The term carat represents the “weight” of the diamond itself. One carat is equal to 200 milligrams.

Clarity Grade

This grade determines any imperfections or irregularities throughout the diamond. Any spots or lines within the diamond are considered inclusions. The fewer the inclusions, the more valuable the diamond. The scale for grading diamonds ranges from flawless(FL) to imperfect(I). These grades are determined by the visibility of inclusions at a magnification of 10x.

Color Grade

Established by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), diamonds range from D (colorless) to Z. The closer you get to Z grading, a more yellow hue appears in the diamond, which lowers it’s value. The closer you get to the letter A grading the more rare a diamond is, which increases it’s value.

Cut Grade

This is considered the most important facet of the diamond. An exact mathematical formula is used to cut each diamond to release it’s most brilliance and fire. It also refers to the amount of facets the diamond has, A precisely cut diamond will reflect light and refract it back to your eye.